Destiny Expansion 3: The Taken King Release Date

Find out when to expect Bungie’s Destiny Expansion 3: The Taken King release date. The 3rd Destiny DLC was tentatively titled “Destiny – Comet: Plague of Darkness”, but is now called “Destiny: The Taken King”. The latest Pack #3 DLC has been given a release date of mid-September 2015 on Xbox 360, Xbox One, PS3 & PS4. This was revealed through leaked roadmap documents from inside the Bungie studio. It wouldn’t be surprising to find them release the DLC add-on exactly one year after the main game’s debut (September 9th, 2014) on Tuesday September 15th, 2015.

The Destiny Expansion 3: The Taken King DLC Pack includes:
• New Locations: Moon, Venus, Mars, and the Hive Ship.
• New Activities: 12 Story, 4 Strike, 1 Raid, 1 Location, and 6 PvP Maps.
• Bonus: New subclasses and 2 new weapon types.

Destiny Expansion 3: The Taken King Release Date

Aside from the above bulletpoint list, a few more tidbits have been revealed about The Taken King expansion pack:

#1. A Red Bull promotion not only confirms the upcoming The Taken King release before an official announcement, but it also lists what’s in the 4-Pack. Namely, a code to download a new Flamesword weapon and gain extra experience points.

To quote the leaked packaging:

“Become legend with Flamesword at* – Code inside pack.

Redeem code inside pack at* for bonus XP now & epic Quest in Destiny: The Taken King.”

*As of yet the domain still redirect to an unavailable page.

#2. A recent trademark registration has revealed the official logo that you can see at the top of this page.

To quote the logo’s mark description:

“The mark consists of the words THE TAKEN KING in CAPS in the color gray. Below the “A,” “K,” and “E” in the word TAKEN is a graphic image consisting of a large oxblood “V” in the form of two slightly outward curved slashes. Rising from a position approximately two-thirds up the inner sides of the large “V” is an inverted “V” with curved sides, and beneath the inverted “V” is an “X” consisting of two oxblood slashes resting half-way up the sides of the large “V,” whose lines cross below the center of the inserted “V” and then point straight up.”

#3. After the Expansion 3 release, we may have two more expansions to look forward to in 2016 before Destiny 2 arrives.

Here’s what the roadmap reveales as potentially Expansion 4 & 5…

Destiny Expansion 4: Vex Void
• Date: TBA.
• New Locations: Venus, Mars.
• New Activities: 3 Story, 2 Strike, 1 Raid, and an unknown number of PvP Maps.

Destiny Expansion 4: Forge of Gods
• Date: TBA.
• New Locations: TBA.
• New Activities: TBA.

Are you excited for the Destiny: The Taken King DLC?